RTS Careers Fair

On Wednesday 1st February, I attended a careers fair for RTS (Royal Television Society). Even though television is not the area I’m most interested in within Media, it was interesting to have an insight into something different. I travelled to London from Plymouth with four other friends and we spent two days looking at the sights and creating memories. This RTS fair was very positive for me because I looked at sectors within social media and journalism, a few jobs engaged me to apply for the role. Some of these positions were paid graduate jobs and some were unpaid shorter schemes.

As I am open to all possibilities when I finish university, I wanted to have improved knowledge of the company and the different roles they advertise yearly. When I finish university, I want to try and ensure I have a job waiting, ideally within the media. I am hoping to kick-start my career straight away by having relevant experience within the industry. By working alongside/for a well-known company will enhance my potential career aspirations and hopefully enhance my application. I will be attending other career fairs because I collected many skills throughout this experience, which enhanced my communicational skills by talking to people within the industry.

Leave a comment