MEDI503: Reflection on Gif’s

I wanted to do some further research into what gifs/cinemagraphs I didn’t really like just so I could refine my idea further. Showing examples which I liked on previous posts allows me to create experiments on what I like the most, whereas I haven’t included information on what I don’t like to see included on a gifs/cinemagraphs. This was the next point I wanted to cover so people could understand my development and know why I was inspired by the gifs I chose.

This first example, isn’t the type of gif I’m looking to make because it includes a lot of movement from the coloured lights. I also don’t like the reflection around the room and on the walls, however I like the silhouette in the centre of the gif because it’s not moving. I also think the strobe light is very repetitive and could benefit from slowing down just a bit because it gives an overpowering lighting feeling for some audiences.

Reference: Giphy (2016) Giphy. Self Portrait. [on-line] http://giphy.com/page/2 Date Accessed: 9th May 2016

This second example, also isn’t the type of gif I want to create because it’s got too much movement in the hands. Even though, this is a self-portrait which is the theme we needed for the gifs I don’t really like the skills displayed. I also don’t really like the movement of this gif as I find it boring and repetitive it also doesn’t display much skill within the movement of the hands.

Reference: Giphy (2016) Giphy. Self Portrait. [on-line] http://giphy.com/page/2 Date Accessed: 9th May 2016

This third example, includes a silhouette of a park which includes trees and birds. I like the background of this gif and I think the sunset in this gif is cinematic (this is how I would like my cinemagraph). Although, I think the movement of the birds is very quick and changes the feel of this gif, from being cinematic to being rushed. I want minimal movement included in my gif because I don’t want it to be overloaded with moving objects.

Reference:  Giphy (2016) Giphy. Self Portrait. [on-line] http://giphy.com/page/2 Date Accessed: 9th May 2016

Leave a comment