MEDI503: Development/Experimentation

After doing initial research and additional research in the first week, I decided to start experimenting with some of the ideas I was inspired by. As I haven’t ever made a cinemagraph I wanted to ensure I gave myself enough time for improvements if I needed to. During the second week of this project, I wanted to start experiment with the motion of the umbrella and see if I could create an cinemagraph just of the umbrella moving instead of my body and fingers. I was successful in doing this, but I found a lot of problems when trying to actually create the cinemagraph in Adobe After Effects as there was too much movement in the umbrella. So I had to create a gif which didn’t have many frames, doing this made the gif have a disadvantage. Instead of having a gif which actually moved around, mine just creates the illusion of it moving around from frame to frame instead of round and round in a circle. This idea proved a lot harder than I thought it would be, but it was a good skill to learn throughout the development of this gif. I also tried to complete my first gif on photoshop but a lot of the frames I took in a stop-motion method were unusable because there was too much movement. Unfortunately, because of this I could only use 2 frames out of 70, which meant I had a lot to learn to make my cinemagraph successful in the upcoming weeks.

In the next week, I hope to work on my second idea of an eye moving near a glass jar but this time I will be taking what I’ve learnt from this experience and trying to improve my on the next method.

This is the gif I made;

umbrellafinal

This is the software I used;

Adobe After Effects
Adobe After Effects
Adobe Photoshop
Adobe Photoshop

Leave a comment