MEDI503: Development of Final Gif

In the third week of this project, I developed more stop motion animations and cinemagraphs. As the theme for this project was self-portrait I developed two gifs which included myself. One of them was me holding several umbrellas and the other was me holding a glass jar in front of my face. I wanted to do two initial gifs and then hopefully this would teach me new methods for creating my final one. I unfortunately couldn’t do this because I didn’t have enough time to take all the images for the stop motion animation or cinemagraph. So I had to make one gif and then try a new idea to show development. I done this well but I would’ve liked to create more than two gifs for my development to show more of a range.

As the quality of my experimental gif isn’t very good compared to others. I wanted to ensure my next/final gif would be better and show more academic skills. The second idea I developed was from ‘Romain Laurent’ and it displayed a glass jar in front of a female’s face, this was inspiring for me because it showed some cinematic backgrounds (which is what I wanted). I chose to use this idea as my final gif because it allowed me to create something simple but have a complex narrative. Taking the pictures for this shoot, didn’t come as easy as I thought it would because I was confused on whether to take it as a film or a stop motion method. So I chose to do both so I could show more of a selection, I also changed locations of where I would stand so I could show more of a range. I had four different locations and I chose to go with the one of me standing by the window because it was most like the original. (Potential Location 4)

Leave a comment