MEDI503: Creating Gifs in Adobe Photoshop and After Effects

During the last couple of weeks I needed to refer back to this lecture that we had at the start of this project on how to create gifs using Adobe Photoshop and Adobe After Effects. So I collected some notes in this lecture and I used them whilst creating my gifs. These notes were very effective when creating my gif.

Creating a gif using Adobe Photoshop

  • Bring in files to photoshop (the ones you want for your animation)
  • Make sure to number the files in order
  • Click on window and timeline
  • Make frames from layers, icon on right hand side
  • Change the settings to forever loop, on left hand side at bottom
  • Select all frames, copy frame and paste after selection
  • Reserve Frames
  • Select down bottom menu to change length
  • No delay for stop motion animation
  • Image size; don’t go over 1000 pixels
  • File, export, save for web and check review window

Creating a gif using Adobe After Effects

  • Use photoshop for cutting out unwanted parts
  • Create your strip on Photoshop before bringing it into After Effects
  • Use video from Photoshop and still images
  • Preview, to change loop
  • Chose timeline
  • File, export and add to render queue
  • Render as video on After Effects and open in Photoshop as frames
  • File, import, video frames to layers in Photoshop
  • Select from beginning to end, frame animation
  • Loop Forever
  • File, export, save for web.
  • Don’t go over 2gb for file size
  • Looping options: Forever

I used both of these processes when making my gif and I found them very helpful. So I will be using them again when creating a gif or cinemagraph.

Leave a comment